talkfootball365
  • Welcome to talkfootball365!

The better place to talk football.

xG (Expected Goals)

football forum

• Subscriber

Seems to have crept into football lately, something that defines based on chances and how good the chances were, how many goals a team should've scored in a game.

Interesting theory, or load of bollocks?

• Replies 32
  • Created
  • Last Reply
  • Subscriber

Again, with the absolutely obese obsession with stats, we're slowly becoming the Americans.

I'm sure someone's put loads of work into this algorithm and I'm sure it's one of the most accurate models out there, and as a mathematician I appreciate that.

But we're talking about 22 guys trying to twat a football between two posts, sometimes the ball just bounces in off someone's arse and ruins all the carefully planned science behind things like this.

My judgement is through my eyes. This goes for everything in football. If a player has 20+ goals and 20+ assists but I find them to be crap, that's my opinion (Salah I'm looking at you). If a winger has 2 goals and 3 assists a season but dominates his wing creating danger and offers good support, then I'll find them to be better than the former who misses too many chances a game. Stats mean nothing, they can offer a good insight but they don't determine how good a player is.