talkfootball365
  • Welcome to talkfootball365!

The better place to talk football.

Chess

football forum

I thought it'd be nice to open up my own thread on chess. I know @CaaC (John) plays and is teaching his great grandchildren to play, and personally I've been playing for 25 years, been in Chess Tournaments, and still keep up with national chess tournaments. Add to that my collection of maybe 50-70 chess books, my Bobby Fischer art, my Staunton Chess table, and I guess you could say I'm a fanatic. 

So, anyone else play? Anyone interested in playing? 

1 minute ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

I play chess but I'm not great at it and you'll probably murder me

Ha - I didn't mean to challenge anyone, just curious if anyone was playing nowadays. 

I just started back on Chess.com, but I mostly play on ICC and OTB. 

I actually went to chess camp growing up, on my own doing, with my best friend. It's basically all we did from 5 to 21 years old, with both of us getting in the top 100 in the State (he was always higher though). 

I might be getting a chess coach again and working on actually improving and giving it one last go at getting my NM before I'm too old or bogged down. 

• Subscriber

I like it; don't play it often these days though. My grandfather taught me how to play when I was a kid; my ex was very good at it as well and I had to get him drunk in order to beat him. Then later we also used to play a lot at work with a few colleagues. I hate online chess so it means I barely get to play anymore.

I'm sure Eco would murder us all xD 

8 minutes ago, nudge said:

I like it; don't play it often these days though. My grandfather taught me how to play when I was a kid; my ex was very good at it as well and I had to get him drunk in order to beat him. Then later we also used to play a lot at work with a few colleagues. I hate online chess so it means I barely get to play anymore.

I'm sure Eco would murder us all xD