• Sign up free today!

    Join in on the discussion, prediction leagues and competitions today! Sign up takes no longer than 5 minutes.

Sign in to follow this  
football forum

PFA Scotland Player of the Year Nominations

Recommended Posts


Player of the Year:
James Forrest
Callum McGregor
Alfredo Morelos
Ryan Kent

Young Player:
Ryan Kent
Lewis Ferguson
David Turnbull
Jake Hastie



Two players each from leaders Celtic and second-top Rangers have been nominated for the PFA Scotland Premiership Player of the Year award.

Celtic winger James Forrest and midfielder Callum McGregor are joined by Rangers striker Alfredo Morelos and on-loan Liverpool winger Ryan Kent.

Kent is also among the nominations for the young player award.

He is up against Aberdeen's Lewis Ferguson and Motherwell pair David Turnbull and Jake Hastie.

It will be the first time in four years that Celtic left-back Kieran Tierney - who remains eligible for the award at 21 - will not have lifted the young player prize.

And it will also be the first time in five years that a Celtic defender will not claim the award, with Jason Denayer preceding Tierney.

Celtic captain Scott Brown topped the player of the year voting among his peers last season, becoming only the second player to win it twice after former Celtic striker Henrik Larsson.

Forrest was also nominated last year, along with former Hibernian midfielder John McGinn and Kilmarnock striker Kris Boyd.

He and Scotland team-mate McGregor will be looking to make it a sixth season in a row that the award has gone to a Celtic player.

If it is won by Morelos or Kent, they will become the first to buck that trend since former Motherwell striker Michael Higdon won in 2012-13.

Morelos was nominated for the young player award last season along with Aberdeen defender Scott McKenna and St Mirren winger Lewis Morgan, now of Celtic.

Two notable absentees from the list, who were 21 at the start of the season, are strikers Sam Cosgrove, of Aberdeen, and Odsonne Edouard, of Celtic.

The last non-Celtic player to win that award was Scotland left-back Andrew Robertson, now of Liverpool and then of Dundee United, in 2013-14.



Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.

  • Advertisement