Jump to content
  • Welcome to talkfootball365!

    The better place to talk football.

Steve Clarke Named PFA Scotland Manager of the Year

Recommended Posts

  • Subscriber

Hats off to Clark, Scotland managers job next?  :ay: 



Kilmarnock boss Steve Clarke has been named PFA Scotland's manager of the year after guiding the club to a record Scottish Premiership points haul for the second successive season.

The Rugby Park side currently sit third with 61 points, two better than last year's benchmark, and will finish no lower than fourth with two games left.

Former Scotland defender Clarke, 55, has been in charge since October 


Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Replies 1
  • Created
  • Last Reply
  • Subscriber


James Forrest, Steve Clarke & Ryan Kent win PFA Scotland annual awards


        James Forrest, Steve Clarke and Ryan Kent won awards at PFA Scotland's annual event

Celtic winger James Forrest and Kilmarnock boss Steve Clarke have been named PFA Scotland's Premiership player and manager of the year respectively.

Forrest, 27, has scored 17 goals for treble-chasing Celtic, who clinched an eighth straight title on Saturday.

Clarke, 55, has led third-placed Kilmarnock to a record league points haul for the second season running.

And Rangers attacker Ryan Kent, 22, has won the Premiership young player of the year award.

Kent, on loan from Liverpool, has contributed six goals and 10 assists in 41 outings for Steven Gerrard's men this term, netting in Rangers' Old Firm derby defeat in March.

Forrest, who scored the winner that day, has also struck in the semi-finals of both the Scottish League Cup and Scottish Cup, providing 20 assists in 55 appearances.

And the winger has scored five goals in six Scotland caps during the current campaign.

Former Scotland defender Clarke has been in charge at Rugby Park since October 2017 and is on course to guide Kilmarnock to European qualification for the first time since 2001.

Having finished fifth with 59 points last term, his side are currently two places and two points better with two matches remaining.

They will end the season no lower than fourth, and if they finish third, or Celtic beat Hearts in the Scottish Cup final, they will be guaranteed a place in the Europa League first qualifying round.

Forrest and Kent feature in PFA Scotland's Old Firm-dominated Premiership team of the year, alongside Livingston captain Craig Halkett and Aberdeen skipper Graeme Shinnie:

Allan McGregor (Rangers); James Tavernier (Rangers), Kristoffer Ajer(Celtic), Dedryck Boyata (Celtic), Craig Halkett (Livingston); Callum McGregor (Celtic), Scott Brown (Celtic), Graeme Shinnie (Aberdeen); James Forrest (Celtic), Alfredo Morelos (Rangers), Ryan Kent (Rangers).

Strikers dominate lower league awards

Three prolific strikers won the respective lower league player of the year awards.

Queen of the South veteran Stephen Dobbie, 36, earned the Championship prize after scoring 40 goals in all competitions this term.

Arbroath's Bobby Linn was named League One player of the year after the 33-year-old's 23-league goal haul helped Dick Campbell's men clinch the title.

Blair Henderson, 24, of Edinburgh City picked up the League Two award having scored 38 goals in all competitions.



Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • The title was changed to Steve Clarke Named PFA Scotland Manager of the Year


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.

Sign up or subscribe to remove this ad.

  • Create New...